Shhh! This Book is Sleeping

Written by Cedric Ramadier | Illustrated by Vincent Bourgeau | Jan 2016 | Random House Kids
Hold this book gently because it’s very sleepy! A mouse inside the pages invites you to read the book a bedtime story, tuck it in with a cozy blanket, and give it a hug and a kiss. Oh, and don’t forget to ask whether it brushed its teeth and went pee-pee! Then turn off the light. There. Shhh! This book is sleeping! Fans of Press Here and The Monster at the End of This Book will enjoy coaxing the very book they’re holding to go to sleep. READ MORE

Cruising through the Louvre

Written by David Prudhomme | Translated by Joe Jonhson | Jan 2016 | NBM Publishing
Author David Prudhomme meanders through the Louvre, feeling as if in the panels of a giant comic while he himself is creating his own. In this institution, all manner of people from all over the world rub elbows quietly. So he decides to cruise through the Louvre at a quick pace, not to look at the art but to observe the people and their interaction with it. READ MORE

The Democratic Spirit of Law

Written by Dominique Schnapper | Translated by Bernice Dubois | jan 2016 | Transaction Publishers
In this major new work, Dominique Schnapper continues her investigation into changes in contemporary democracy. Although she concentrates on the French example, The Democratic Spirit of Law concerns all democratic societies. READ MORE

The Deep Sea Diver’s Syndrome

Written by Serge Brussolo | Translated by Edward Gauvin | Jan 2016 | Melville House
In The Deep Sea Diver’s Syndrome, lucid dreamers called mediums dive into their dreams to retrieve ectoplasms—sticky blobs with curiously soothing properties that are the only form of art in the world. The more elaborate the dream, the better the ectoplasm. READ MORE

Thus Zarathustra Fell Silent

Written by Nicolas Wild | Restless Books | Translated by Edward Gauvin | December
A brilliantly original graphic novel that takes on the history of Zoroastrianism, one of the oldest monotheistic religions of the world. READ MORE

Marseille Noir

Written by a collective of French authors | Edited by Cedric Fabre | Translated by David and Nicola Ball | November 2015
Akashic Books continues its groundbreaking series of original noir anthologies, launched in 2004 with Brooklyn Noir. Each story is set in a distinct neighborhood or location within the city of the book. The Akashic Noir Series first ventured into France with Paris Noir, and now moves one step deeper... READ MORE

The Burdens of Brotherhood Jews and Muslims from North Africa to France

Written by Ethan B. Katz | Harvard University Press | November 2015
Headlines from France suggest that Muslims have renewed an age-old struggle against Jews and that the two groups are once more inevitably at odds. But the past tells a different story. The Burdens of Brotherhood is a sweeping history of Jews and Muslims in France from World War I to the present. Here Ethan Katz introduces a richer and more complex world that offers fresh perspective for understanding the opportunities and challenges in France today. READ MORE

The Iran-Iraq War

Written by Pierre Razoux | Harvard University Press | Translated by Nicholas Elliott | November
Razoux’s account is based on unpublished military archives, oral histories, and interviews, as well as audio recordings seized by the U.S. Army detailing Saddam Hussein’s debates with his generals. Tracing the war’s shifting strategies and political dynamics—military operations, the jockeying of opposition forces within each regime, the impact on oil production so essential to both countries—Razoux also looks at the international picture. From the United States and Soviet Union to Israel, Europe, China, and the Arab powers, many nations meddled in this conflict, supporting one side or the other and sometimes switching allegiances. READ MORE

The 6:41 to Paris

Written by Jean-Philippe Blondel | New Vessel Press | translated by Alison Anderson
“Clever and gripping, The 6:41 to Paris offers an intimate look at what happens when, during a fateful meeting, two old flames are unexpectedly forced to face their lives and the choices they’ve made in the past. Through his masterful use of a dual narrative, Blondel takes the reader on an intense emotional journey, and, as the train rumbles down the tracks, the suspense builds. Unputdownable.” —Samantha Vérant, author of Seven Letters from Paris: A Memoir READ MORE

Non-Sovereign Futures : French Caribbean Politics in the Wake of Disenchantment

Written by Yarimar Bonilla | University of Chicago Press | November
As an overseas department of France, Guadeloupe is one of a handful of non-independent societies in the Caribbean that seem like political exceptions—or even paradoxes—in our current postcolonial era. In Non-Sovereign Futures, Yarimar Bonilla wrestles with the conceptual arsenal of political modernity—challenging contemporary notions of freedom, sovereignty, nationalism, and revolution—in order to recast Guadeloupe not as a problematically non-sovereign site but as a place that can unsettle how we think of sovereignty itself. READ MORE

Walking Wounded Uncut Stories from Iraq

Written by Mael & Olivier Morel | NBM Publishing | Oct 1
For hundreds of thousands of young Americans, after the shock of 9/11, there was Ar Ramadi, Baghdad, Abu Ghraib… The war in Iraq. Then came the trauma. Olivier Morel gave them a voice in his compelling documentary On the Bridge. READ MORE

Who Done It?

Written by Olivier Tallec | Chronicle Books | October
In this charming book, each page asks the reader a question about the lineup of characters featured on the spread. Sharp eyes and keen observation are necessary. There's only one right answer, and it's not always easy! Kids will love learning early concepts like expressions and positions as a natural consequence of their hunt for clues in the details of the lineup. It's a book for all audiences: the seek-and-find call to action on every page makes Who Done It? a wonderful lap or parent read, while the whimsical art, distinctive horizontal format, and hip exposed board ensures this book will be equally appealing as engaging coffee table décor. READ MORE

Pages

1/3
MORE IN books
authors on tour

Anaïs Depommier

SEPT 2017
US TOUR
authors on tour

Camille Laurens

SEPT 2017
US TOUR
authors on tour

Yanick Lahens

SEPT 2017
US TOUR
authors on tour

Christophe Boltanski

Oct 23-30, 2017
US TOUR